The mundane distractions.

In many ways, I am an extremely mundane creature.  I work in an office Monday through Friday.  Kit and I have date nights on Monday and shop for groceries on Wednesday.  We own an X-Box, a Wii, computers, and a couple of old Game Gears.  I come home from my day job, play silly Big Fish games, futz around on Facebook, watch TV, and browse for silly cat macros on the internet.

This is not all we do, of course.  We have kids and friends; we go to concerts and stage shows.  We attend outdoor festivals four times a year and do a certain amount of Work.  But I specifically have a number of mundane, mostly digital distractions.

It’s all right to turn off now and again.  Sometimes it’s needed.  And we all have mundane commitments that we can’t avoid.  When one buries oneself in a computer game for hours on a regular basis, however, it becomes more than just turning off – it’s avoidance.  These things blank my mind out entirely in a buzz of static; I don’t hear Kit half the time, much less my Deities.

And that, if I tell myself the truth, has been the point.  I keep trying to tell myself that I’m lazy.  My growing list of projects would say that I shouldn’t be.  I have Work to do, but I absorb myself in Fallout or Big Fish or Facebook to avoid it.  I forget to do the mundane things to keep the household running; I forget to keep up with my altar or work on my projects.  When my brain is off, all that matters is the next quest marker.  My priorities are wrong.

Changing this won’t be easy, and bad habits are hard to break.  But it’s not impossible.  If I’m to be ready, and do the Work that needs doing, then I have to adjust my priorities.  My family, my health, and my Deities are higher priorities than the things that go beep.  I have to remind myself of that every day, pull myself away from the computer and the games and the mind-numbing TV and get my ass in gear.

But damn if it isn’t satisfying to snipe a feral ghoul from sixty yards. 😛

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

