The value of spontaneity.

It might be obvious by now, but I am, most decidedly, not a spontaneous person.

Sometimes this is a good thing.  I’m a good planner, which is helpful in setting a budget or a weekly menu.  I make lists, which help keep me and others organized.  There are calendars everywhere – at work, at home, and on my tablet – that help me keep up with our busy lives.

Planning isn’t everything, though, and an obsessive planner in a house of spontaneous people can make things… interesting.  Kit and his younger boys all have that personality, where fun isn’t planned out or scheduled.  Occasionally this makes me crazy; while they rarely shirk responsibility for sudden outbursts of fun, sometimes it’s overwhelming to me, and all I want to do is go to my little corner and make another list.  (Although a recent 10:00PM ice cream adventure got no quarrel from me.  Ice cream…)

It’s a lesson that’s been long in coming.  My life can’t always be planned, and nothing is showing that more than my attempts to create a daily devotional practice.  Usually I write it out, plan it out, decide what I’ll do when and how and what I’ll say and blah blah blah.  This is great for some things – large public rituals, for instance, often have to have at least a rough script in order to work well.  But a daily practice doesn’t have to be scripted; it just has to happen every day.

Surprising to me, I can’t write out a devotional practice.  I’ve tried.  The pen won’t move; my brain goes blank.  Luckily it didn’t take me long to get the hint.  Stop thinking so hard.  Just do.

So I am.  One day at a time, a little thing at a time.  Singing an impromptu song while doing dishes; going to have ice cream at 10PM; turning off the computer and painting a necklace or making a pair of earrings.  These are all small things, spontaneous things that I haven’t planned, but do with Him in mind.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

