How do you divine when you don’t know how to ask?

I get the weirdest thoughts when I’m on the toilet, most especially on the toilet at work. Most of my spiritual revelations tend to happen when I’m at my day job, oddly enough; I think it’s because it’s such a public place that I can’t react until I’ve had a chance to process it. But I digress.

It struck me, sitting there on the toilet at work, a few thoughts about divination. I created my own system, and now have to memorize and test it. Being that I never took to tarot or runes makes this a little more interesting, but Tamalut (the kahina) asked it, and Himself is insisting I continue. It will be part of my Work going forward, I’m Told; with 33 tiles to learn, no time like the present to start.

I’ve done two readings so far, both for the same person, and I had a little difficulty. I haven’t memorized the meanings yet, so my intuition couldn’t take over very well. I also wasn’t listening closely enough to Tamalut. Thankfully I’m working with experienced diviners and very good friends for these test runs, so I’m getting excellent feedback. Overall, the readings went well, and I have several more to do.

Something other than my recent cold was nagging at me, though, and I realized (yes, there on the porcelain thinking throne) that I never learned to ask. I have had two divinations done in my life, only one of them in real seriousness, and the question I asked was poorly chosen. (Word to the wise: Never ask “Am I on the right path?” to any reader/oracle, most especially one belonging to Dionysos. Open-ended questions like that never get the answers one would expect, and Those with tricksy aspects always run gleefully with it.)

Anyway. Never having asked good divinatory questions myself, I have a little difficulty responding to them. What draw do I use for “x” question? How about for “y” question? It’s going to take some time for that skill to build up. Like I said, though, I have wonderful experienced friends who are willing to be guinea pigs for me.

Which reminds me, I have more readings to do.

And I think I like the Porcelain Thinking Throne.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

