Sympathy for the Devil

There is an interesting quirk of my personality that I’ve known about for a very long time, but rediscovered a little over the weekend:

I can get along with just about anybody.

In my first office job, there was a client I had to deal with on a daily basis that pissed off most of the people he worked with. I got along with him pretty easily – not that he didn’t frustrated me from time to time, but people often didn’t understand how on earth I could get along with him. It was a little more than just a professional working relationship; it was about as close to friendship as anyone could get with this person. I have relationships like this now; people who are difficult to deal with, who are polarizing, who have pretty consistent moments of “Want to strangle!” Y’know what I mean, probably.

That doesn’t mean I like everybody. There are people I can’t stand, people about whom I am ambivalent, people who I really can’t care about, people I’m uncomfortable with. There have been people I can even say I’ve hated, much as I wish I didn’t (for my own peace of mind more than anything). I’d be a little scared if I really liked everybody; I’m not a Golden Retriever, after all. But I seem to have a way of getting along with difficult people, without forgetting their challenges.

Odd thought is all.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

