“I am Them, but I am not Them.”

Or: “We are dumb, but we are not so dumb.”

Or: “Fala’s losing it again.”

I am something akin to a hard polytheist. Deities are distinct personalities, rather than avatars of a single energy. I do think Their source is a single energy, but then again, I think everything’s source is a single energy. It’s a weird, somewhat contradictory form of polytheism, but, as I’ve probably said before, I’m not known for making a lot of sense.

That said, I was lying awake thinking a few nights ago about such things. One of my latest Assignments is to study several of the Celtic deities – to get to know my Siblings, so to speak. One of those first on my list is Nuada, the Irish chieftain-god of healing (not to be confused with Dian Checht, chief physician to the Tuatha dé Danann). Other nearby Celtic cultures (Welsh, Gaulish, British) have similar deities who go by other names, such as Ludd, Nudd, and Nodens.

It got me thinking, and I asked Cernunnos, in a roundabout way, if He preferred the name by which I call Him, or another. (He is said to be Hu Gadarn, Herne, the Green Man, and others.) His answer was interesting:

I am Them, but I am not Them.

Thought-provoking, no? I was certainly thinking about it again this morning.

The best way I can describe the relationship between Cernunnos and these other aspects of Him is “sibling-selves” – that’s my best translation of the feeling He projects about it. They are independent beings or Deities in Their own right, but Their existence was born from local need for a presence similar to His. Hu Gadarn started as a Welsh hero, and Herne as a British spirit. Hell, even the name “Cernunnos” is taken from an artifact from the 1st century C.E. (the Pillar of the Boatmen), while depictions of horned men – and the feeling of the Deity in my head – reach back some 10,000 years.

That wandered a bit, didn’t it? Oops.

It’s hard to express; I understand what He means, but it’s not the easiest concept to put into words, and I’m afraid I might be making a hash of it.

I am Them, but I am not Them.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

5 thoughts on ““I am Them, but I am not Them.”

  1. John Drury says:

    This does not surprise at all, neither your description of polytheism nor the “I am Them and not Them” statement. I get the same issue with the Dioskouroi. I had a long conversation with someone about this once. It’s not like They’re brothers or sisters, nor is it like They’re offspring. It’s almost like clones that then develop differently, but who are still the same, but still not. I still haven’t figured it all out but I don’t worry too much about it.

    The Pillar of the Boatmen, as I’m sure you know, has the Dioscuri on it as well, btw. 🙂

  2. With the Norse Deities, it has been made clear to me and others (PCPG) that we can/do work with the same Deity at different points in their “linear development”, and it’s like working with a completely different Deity, even though it isn’t. Elizabeth’s husband and my Dad are not the same Loki, although they are both Loki, if that makes any sense. I am more closely aligned with the Loki tied to the Rock, whereas the aspect she is married to is more sane and more playful; probably much earlier in the “line”. So even though I am a hard polytheist, I also believe that since Gods don’t progress or exist in a linear reality, you can be working with the same, distinct Deity and have completely different experiences.

    • Fala says:

      Yes, precisely! Thank you.

    • John Drury says:

      That’s a fascinating way of looking at it as well. It might explain some things too. I’m going to copy this as it’s part of an issue that’s been bugging me for some time. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

