No Excuses.

A couple of friends who are extremely enthusiastic yoga practitioners posted a lovely article from Elephant Journal about the oldest yoga teacher in the world – 93-year-old Tao Porchon Lynch. The photos of this yoga master, ballroom dancer, wine lover, actress, and model are beautiful. When posting it, one of my friends stated, “Another reason to tell the voice in your head saying ‘I can’t’ to f*** off.” (The other friend replied, “F*ck yeah!” I love my friends.)

This got me thinking. Not necessarily Ms. Lynch’s achievement (which is wonderful), but what my friends said. That niggling little voice in one’s head has so many reasons.

“I’m too tired.”

“I hurt too much.”

“I have too much to do.”

“I can’t.”

I’ve used so many of those excuses, plus some. I’ve applied them to everything, from reasons not to get my shit together, to why I haven’t been able to get into shape, to why I can’t just get that damn load of dishes done.

Guess what?

By successfully completing my Ordeal, I have thoroughly invalidated every excuse in my book.

There was only one time during my Ordeal when I said “I can’t.” With all of the pain and humiliation I endured, I said those words once.

I can’t fail.

How about that?

It doesn’t mean I won’t hurt. It doesn’t mean I won’t get tired. I’m not Super Slave, and if I don’t take care of His property, He won’t be happy either.

His property. Oooh, frisson.

ANYhow.

No more excuses. Fuck off, you wicked little voice. I can.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

5 thoughts on “No Excuses.

  1. Hee, glad my profanity is motivational 😉

    I actually have names for the ‘I can’t’ and ‘I can’ voices in my head. For some reason, it helped me to name them. Because then I can go, “Fuck You, Sloth. I’m listening to Xena. We’re going to go clean the kitchen, then plant cucumbers.”

  2. I found it does give one tremendous confidence. I still have that months later. You have seen the hard things that scared you and faced them. I think it is the nature of the beast for Ordeals. Or Beast, in my case. 😉

  3. Alex says:

    I learned this little saying at my day job: All can’t stands for is Choose Again Not To. When I say I can’t, that’s exactly what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

