The Gratitude Project: Day One

Blessed Lughnasadh, first of all. It is the first harvest, a celebration of plenty. My Lover matures; there is gray interspersed with His green.

It is also time for the Gratitude Project. It’s something I’ve done every year for the past six years. It has helped me through some of my weirdest days, and it sticks with me all year in a small way.

The Gratitude Project (started by Julie McCord) runs from Lammas/Lughnasadh to Mabon. It entails you being mindful of whatever brings you joy and you journal “the something” you are grateful for each day between those Sabbats. No repeats – you can be grateful for your spouse/kids/job/friends, but the reason for the gratitude needs to be different for each entry. It can BIG or not, your journal/blog entry can be long or short. It can be on paper or in pixels and public or private.

I’m doing double gratitude this year – one that my blood family can see, and one here. The ones here will be a little… different.

Today I am grateful for my scars – both physical and spiritual. From the childhood scrapes to the marks of my Ordeal; from the frustration of a burned dinner to the remnants of my neuroses. They make me who I am; they remind me where I’ve been; they remind me of how far I’ve come.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

