Politics

politics: noun
1. the science or art of political government.
2. the practice or profession of conducting political affairs.

“The owners of this country know the truth: It’s called the American dream because you have to be asleep to believe it.” – George Carlin

I don’t talk about politics much. Ever. I don’t like them. I grew up with parents on two sides of the Republican coin (my mother calls herself a Rockefeller Republican). One side of my family refused to discuss politics, considering it bad manners; the other side discussed them loudly and at length (especially if you got some alcohol into one of my aunts, who was an avid supporter of Rush Limbaugh).

There’s more to it, of course, but let’s just say… I hate politics. Workplace politics, family politics, religious politics, politics in friendship, and government politics.

And as November draws closer, it gets more and more prevalent. There seems to be so much riding on the current presidential race in the US. Debates on Facebook, debates at work, debates among my family. I’m not involved in any of the debates, I just do what I do and live my life and try to contribute where I can to make life better. I’m still exhausted by it. I’m fed up with it. I’m done with it.

I’m about ready to throw it all in and move to Canada (where Kit has family). Or Sweden (where Kit and I have friends). Or Belgium or France. Or anywhere but here. Even Australia. The venomous snakes have got to be better than this shit.

I was born here. I love my home. I love my friends and family. I do not love my government or my society. It is broken in more ways than I can count. There are people trying hard to fix it, but there are just as many trying just as hard to break it further.

And what choices do we have ahead of us? Two parties who have pretty similar plans – one wants to insert themselves in our daily lives in the name of “national security,” the other wants to do the same in the name of “family values.” We’re fed maudlin fluff or adversarial lies until we’re overstuffed. We’re tumbling headlong into a military state no matter who we choose, and I don’t see life improving either way.

Helluva choice.

There are other candidates for all of these. Independent, Green, Libertarian, and more. But they haven’t got the money or connections to make a dent. The only comprehensive list I’ve found is on Wikipedia. With the party system and Electoral College set up as they are… well, what’s the point? And good luck voting “no confidence.”

So we can fight at the lower “grassroots” level and wait years for change to happen… or not. We can try to change how we vote at the high level and wait years for that change to happen… or not. Or we can run from it, leaving behind friends and family, leaving my precious mountains, leaving all I love.

Helluva choice.

It makes me cranky. It makes me sad. And it sucks.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

One thought on “Politics

  1. I’m with you. I nearly posted something on FB about how I wanted to move to Brasil where I’m a citizen and have family. You know things are bad and getting worse when moving to a “less industrialized” country sounds better than staying. At least I’d KNOW the reasons why people vote the way they do there (heavily Catholic country, etc.).

    I just don’t understand what’s going on and why.

Leave a Reply

