Taking care of His property.

Yesterday was all about taking care of others. One of my jobs is to be caretaker when my husband is not doing well, and yesterday was a bad day for him. Add tracheobronchitis to a fibromyalgia flare, and that’s a recipe for a completely flat Kitten. So we both stayed home from work – him to recuperate, me to pick up chicken soup and cough syrup and make him tea and refill his water. I rested where I could, even managing a 90-minute nap in the afternoon, then helped him shower, made him some more tea, got some more cough syrup down him, and wound down from the day.

All along, I was trying very hard to mitigate what I could feel coming. My nose has been running a little since the weekend, with some pretty epic sneezes creeping up on me  yesterday. I have chronic allergies which prompt some pretty amazing throat infections, so I figured it was time to break out the Flonase. I usually take half a dose – one shot up each nostril – when things get annoying. Yesterday I took a full dose, one shot in the morning, and one shot at night.

This morning, while checking on Kit (who is feeling much better), I had the creeping dread of, “Oh, nertz, this is more than just allergies.” Sore throat, stuffy nose, sneezing, coughing… but no itchy eyes that denote allergies.

DAMMIT.

Kit felt well and steady enough to go to work today, so I was up and starting to gather clothes for the day job. As I went to brush my teeth, I got a small poke in the head.

Take care of yourself.

I was ready and willing to take the day off for Kit, if he needed me. But where my health was concerned, I was pushing myself to go to the office when I really don’t have to push this time – I have some leave built up and can get certain things done from home without taxing myself or spreading my germs. Plus, the faster I recover, the easier it will be for U/us to communicate and the easier it will be when our next vending/reading opportunity comes (which is next week).

Take care of His property.

I haven’t done a stellar job of that (my eating and exercising habits of late leave something to be desired), but this? This I needed to do. This I could do.

I called my boss.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

