2014: The Year of Change

It’s been a rough holiday. I won’t detail it much more than that, but it’s been a very rough holiday. And the messages have been coming loud and clear.

At Twilight Covening, the card I received for the coming winter was the Tower.

A few weeks later, I pulled Aggur.

At a stocking party over the holidays, I pulled from my stocking a Fate card.

They all mean the same thing: Change.

Believe me, change has come, in the form of a job layoff that’s turning us upside-down.

It will severely limit what we can do financially; we’ll be bringing in less every month than our current lease costs. So it will uproot us, forcing us to put most of our things in storage and relocate.

I will admit in a hot second that we are luckier than most. We are not breaking our lease, which would come with massive fees; it expires in March. Additionally, a dear friend has opened his home to help, and it’s less than ten miles from where we currently live. We still have one day job, which brings in some funds and offers us insurance. That job is near our youngest child’s current bus stop, and his school is on the way home. We have five events next year for our little business, for which all the registration and housing fees are paid (save one hotel), and for which we have lots of supplies already on hand.

It is not an ideal situation. It is massively stressful to everyone involved, and more labor-intensive than most moves – we have to clean every item that leaves the apartment before it gets moved due to typical apartment pest issues that we do not want to transport elsewhere.

But last night Kit and I were Guides for a purification ritual, and there was more than enough time for us all to take a moment and pass through the ritual ourselves. Apparently I had company – a friend saw “antlers plodding along behind” me as I walked the labyrinth, and then saw great dark wings shot with red enfold me in the center. I had Mother Danu and Cousin Ganesha running commentary in my head; Kit and I passed each other and kept reaching out for one another. And the thought came and stuck:

We will get through this.

There are massive challenges ahead, to be certain. I don’t believe that the Universe always gives you just what you can handle – sometimes circumstances are completely overwhelming because that’s life. Yet Kit and Youngest and I… we have each other. We have our Guides and our Deities. I have my Sir (even though most of His communication right now is “ba ba ba ba,” but it makes me giggle and that’s important). There will be frustrations and tears and blowups and hair-pulling and lots of Chewbacca noises (that’s mostly me). But there will also be a lot of laughter, because we freaks can’t get through a single day without laughing.

2014 is the Year of Change for us. We will get through it. All of Us.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

