He is Dark.

That phrase popped into my head today, prompted by a post from Literata. It got me thinking about darker aspects for just a brief moment before the phrase popped into my head.

He is Dark.

Danu my Mother is nurturing. Tough when needed, but always steadfast and never without mercy.

He is Dark.

Ganesha my Friend is Warrior when need be, fierce and courageous. Joyful and clever, studious and solemn.

He is Dark.

Redwing is the flighty one, a flash of red and flutter of yellow, a dart of black in the bright sunlight.

He is Dark.

Cernunnos, my Lover and my Owner in equal measure. He is merciless, heeding not the cries of those under His hands. He is cruel, delivering pain without remorse. He is rage, screaming at the night. He is sorrow, mourning the loss of His brethren and children. He is death, the killer of any who cross His hunting path and the guardian of the Hedge.

It is not all He is. But it is a very large part of Him. It is a part of Him I must work with, must explain and convey and balance with the Light. I have seen His eyes stare at me without mercy. I have felt His rage and sorrow cut through the night. I have borne the sting of His cruelty and been beneath His boot. I have traveled dark paths, and will in the future; the difference now is that my dark path is entwined with His.

He is Dark.

As the winter ends, as the light grows, as He travels the Wheel, it is something I must remember.

He is Dark.

About Fala

Fala Redwing is dedicated to Cernunnos as lover, submissive, and slave. A practicing Pagan since 2001 and a member of the BDSM community since 2006, Fala is an eclectic Witch and natural switch. Fala can be contacted at falaredwing@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

